The University of Louisiana Foundation honored four exceptional faculty members in April who inspire their students and colleagues.

Michael McClure, professor of architecture, and Dr. Hongyi Wu, associate professor of the Center for Advanced Computer Studies, received the Distinguished Professor Award. Allan Jones, professor of visual arts, and Toni Cade, associate professor of health information management, earned the Dr. Ray P. Authement Excellence in Teaching Award. The awards, which include a stipend, are given each year at a banquet held to honor the recipients.

Julie Bolton-Falgout, executive director of the UL Foundation, described these exemplary educators as university ambassadors. "They represent the values of the university, expressed in its finest work: helping to transform the lives of our students, collaborating with their colleagues, and improving our community and our world."

Honorees are nominated and chosen by their peers. The Distinguished Professor Award has been given since 1965. The Excellence in Teaching Award was established in 1992. It was renamed in 2008 to honor former UL President Dr. Ray P. Authement.

This year's award recipients represent the wide-ranging disciplines of information management, art, computer science and architecture.

" They share a passion for teaching; a willingness to experiment with new ideas, techniques and tools; and dedication to their students' success," Falgout said.

UL PRess