This Rule is basically a rule created for what to do if the official messes up and accidentally blows the whistle. Honestly I think the play should continue until the play is obviously over and then discussed by the full officiating crew as to what happened to determine if the play is null or if it doesnt have a significance to the play.
ARTICLE 2. a. A live ball becomes a dead ball as provided in the rules or
when an official sounds his whistle (even though inadvertently) or otherwise
signals the ball dead (A.R. 4-2-1-II and A.R. 4-2-4-I).
b. If an official sounds his whistle inadvertently or otherwise signals the
ball dead during a down (Rules 4-1-3-k and m):
1. When the ball is in player possession, then the team in possession
may elect to put the ball in play where declared dead or replay the
2. When the ball is loose from a fumble, backward pass or illegal pass,
then the team in possession may elect to put the ball in play where
possession was lost or replay the down.
3. During a legal forward pass or a free or scrimmage kick, then the ball
is returned to the previous spot and the down replayed.
4. After Team B gains possession on the try or during an extra period,
then the try is over or the extra-period series is ended.
c. If a foul occurs during any of the above downs, the penalty shall be
administered as in any other play situation if not in conflict with other
rules (A.R. 4-1-2-I and II).