_ _ _ _
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 21 to 23 of 23

Thread: Softball illegal pitch

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: Softball illegal pitch

    Quote Originally Posted by 31Ragin97 View Post
    No base award any longer on illegal pitch call, unless it makes it ball four.

    Maybe not ot? Pleas advise....
    Based on what I'm reading, the rule is still the same: The batter will be awarded a ball, and the runner(s) will be awarded one base. National Pro Fastpitch got rid of the base award for runners, and from what I understand, the NCAA is considering doing the same. If the NCAA does change the rule, it won't happen before the start of the 2020 season.

    I royally misread the rule. It has changed. My bad, CajunAmos.
    Last edited by IndiaPaleAle; February 1st, 2018 at 11:49 pm. Reason: I was wrong; Cajun Amos was right.

  2. #22
    CajunAmos's Avatar
    CajunAmos is online now Ragin Cajuns of Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns Greatest Fan Ever
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lafayette
    Posts
    6,337

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by IndiaPaleAle View Post
    Based on what I'm reading, the rule is still the same: The batter will be awarded a ball, and the runner(s) will be awarded one base. National Pro Fastpitch got rid of the base award for runners, and from what I understand, the NCAA is considering doing the same. If the NCAA does change the rule, it won't happen before the start of the 2020 season.

    For those of you keeping score at home, here's a full list of major rule changes in NCAA softball for 2018 & 2019: https://sup.arbitersports.com/Groups...s_20170817.pdf
    I posted the NCAA link specifying the illegal pitch rule change earlier in this thread.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Parts Unknown
    Posts
    104

    Default Re: Softball illegal pitch

    Quote Originally Posted by CajunAmos View Post
    I posted the NCAA link specifying the illegal pitch rule change earlier in this thread.
    I have no idea how I misread the rule or how I missed the bold and underlined words, but I did. My fault. You are correct, sir.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •