_ _ _ _
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Leger Golden Spikes Semifinalist

  1. #1
    wcd35's Avatar
    wcd35 is offline Ragin Cajuns of Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns Greatest Fan Ever
    Join Date
    Mar 2006

    Default Leger Golden Spikes Semifinalist

    Gunner is the first Cajun to be a Golden Spikes semifinalist in the 40 years it's been around


  2. UL Baseball Leger Golden Spikes semifinalist

    DURHAM, N.C. Louisiana Ragin' Cajuns baseball junior left-hander Gunner Leger became the first player in program history to be named a semifinalist for the USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award, USA Baseball announced on Wednesday. The Golden Spikes Award is given to the top amateur baseball player in the United States and is presented in partnership with the Rod Dedeaux Foundation.

    "It's an honor and a privilege anytime you can be recognized nationally for your hard work and effort," head coach Tony Robichaux said. "To be the first person in our program's history to earn this honor is quite an accomplishment. The Golden Spikes Award is the Heisman Trophy for baseball, and to be among the semifinalists for the award is a tremendous honor for Gunner, our program and our University. It's good to see baseball pay someone back for their hard work and effort."

    Leger is one of 25 players on the semifinalist list that features only five players from outside of the power five conferences. The 2017 Sun Belt Conference Pitcher of the Year, Leger ranks sixth in the nation in victories posting a 10-2 record in 15 starts with a 1.97 ERA. In 91.1 innings, Leger struck out 84 while limiting opponents to a .206 average and combined to post six shutouts. Leger had 11 quality starts on the year and limited opponents to two or less hits in five starts including coming one out away from a no-hitter against Saint Peter's.

    USA Baseball officials will announce the finalists for the 2017 Golden Spikes Award on Wednesday, June 14. To select the finalists, the list of semifinalists is sent to a voting body consisting of past Golden Spikes Award winners, past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of the media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel, and select current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total. As part of the selection process, all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of semifinalists. Voting will be open until Friday, June 9.

    Fan voting will once again be part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2017. This announcement officially marks the opening of voting for amateur baseball fans from across the country on GoldenSpikesAward.com the online home of the award, powered by MLB Advanced Media (MLBAM).

    The live presentation of the 2017 Golden Spikes Award will be announced exclusively on ESPN's flagship program, SportsCenter, on Thursday, June 29. The announcement will take place in ESPN's Los Angeles Production Center at L.A. Live.

    The finalists and their families will be also honored at the Rod Dedeaux Foundation Awards Dinner that evening at the Jonathan Club Los Angeles.

    Mercer University outfielder Kyle Lewis took home the prestigious award in 2016, joining a group of recent winners that includes Andrew Benintendi (2015), A.J. Reed (2014), Kris Bryant (2013), Mike Zunino (2012), Trevor Bauer (2011), Bryce Harper (2010), Stephen Strasburg (2009) and Buster Posey (2008).

    For the latest updates on Ragin' Cajuns baseball, follow Ragin' Cajuns baseball on Facebook (RaginCajunsBaseball), Twitter (@RaginCajunsBSB) and Instagram (@RaginCajunsBSB) or check RaginCajuns.com.

    The remaining timeline for the 2017 Golden Spikes Award announcement is as follows:
    Friday, June 9: 2017 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award semifinalist voting ends
    Wednesday, June 14: 2017 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award finalists announced, voting begins
    Friday, June 23: 2017 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award finalists voting ends
    Thursday, June 29: 2017 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award trophy presentation

    The complete 2017 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist list is as follows:

    Name, Position, Class, School
    Jake Adams, Jr., IF, Iowa
    J.B. Bukauskas, Jr., RHP, North Carolina
    Jake Burger, Jr., IF, Missouri State
    Griffin Canning, Jr., RHP, UCLA
    Morgan Cooper, Jr., RHP, Texas
    Greg Deichmann, Jr., IF, LSU
    Drew Ellis, Jr., IF, Louisville
    Alex Faedo, Jr., RHP, Florida
    Stuart Fairchild, Jr., OF, Wake Forest
    Steven Gingery, So., LHP, Texas Tech
    Nate Harris, Sr., RHP, Louisiana Tech
    Adam Haseley, Jr., LHP/OF, Virginia
    Luke Heimlich, Jr., LHP, Oregon State
    Keston Hiura, Jr., INF/OF, UC Irvine
    Gunner Leger, Jr., LHP, Louisiana
    Nick Madrigal, So., IF, Oregon State
    J.J. Matijevic, Jr., IF, Arizona
    Brendan McKay, Jr., LHP/1B, Louisville
    Nate Pearson, So., RHP, College of Central Florida
    David Peterson, Jr., LHP, Oregon
    Brent Rooker, Jr., OF, Mississippi State
    JP Sears, Jr., LHP, The Citadel
    Brian Shaffer, Jr., RHP, Maryland
    Pavin Smith, Jr., IF/OF, Virginia
    Evan White, Jr., IF, Kentucky

    -- Ragin' Cajuns --

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts